

### **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

### MINUTES

Monday, June 24, 2024 South Muskoka Memorial Hospital Boardroom Approved September 12, 2024

PRESENT:			
Elected Directors:	Moreen Miller	Dave Uffelmann	Mary Lyne
	Anna Landry	Dr. William Evans	Marni Dicker
	Carla Clarkson-Ladd	Bruce Schouten	Jody Boxall
Ex-Officio Directors:	Cheryl Harrison	Melissa Bilodeau	Dr. Khaled Abdel-Razek
	Dr. Helen Dempster	Dr. Joseph Gleeson	
Executive Support:	Alasdair Smith	Diane George	Tammy Tkachuk
	Mary Silverthorn	Bobbie Clark	
Observers:	Matthew Reisler		
<u>REGRETS</u>	Tim Ellis	Line Villeneuve	Colleen Nisbet

#### 1.0 CALL TO ORDER

Cheryl Harrison called the meeting to order at 7:11 pm.

#### 1.1 APPROVAL OF AGENDA

#### It was moved, seconded and carried that the meeting agenda be approved as circulated.

#### **1.2 DECLARATION OF CONFLICT OF INTEREST**

Directors were reminded that conflicts are to be declared for any agenda items and the Director shall not attend any part of a meeting during which the matter in which they have a conflict is discussed. Upon review of the agenda, there were no conflicts of interest declared.

#### 2.0 ENSURE BOARD EFFECTIVENESS

#### 2.1 ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND STANDING COMMITTEE CHAIRS

A call was made three times for any additional nominations for Board Officer and Chair positions. There were no additional nominations tabled.

# It was moved, seconded and carried that the following slate of Board Officers and Committee Chairs be appointed for a one year term from June 25, 2024 until the next Annual Meeting:

- Dave Uffelmann as Board Chair;
- Carla Clarkson-Ladd as Board Vice-Chair;
- Bruce Schouten as Treasurer and the Resources & Audit Committee Chair;
- Cheryl Harrison as Secretary;
- Dave Uffelmann as the Chair of the Performance Management Committee;
- Dr. Bill Evans as the Chair of the Quality and Patient Safety Committee;
- Marni Dicker as the Governance Committee Chair;
- Mary Lyne as Nominations Committee Chair; and,

• Moreen Miller as the Local Share Committee Chair.

It was moved, seconded and carried that Carla Clarkson-Ladd be appointed as Chair of the Capital Redevelopment Steering Committee for a one year term from June 26, 2024 until the next Annual Meeting.

#### 2.3 2024-2025 COMMITTEE COMPOSITION

Dave Uffelmann assumed the role of Chair at this time.

## It was moved, seconded and carried that the 2024-2025 Committee Composition, as set out in the attached chart, be approved be effective June 26, 2024.

#### 3.0 WRAP UP & ADJOURNMENT

The Board was informed that Mentors have been assigned for new Directors and that the Committee Chairs are to work in the capacity as a mentor for new Committee Appointee Members. It was also noted that although ex-officio directors do not have a vote at the Board due to legislation, they are able to table and second motions.

Dave Uffelmann recognized Moreen Miller for her service, dedication and commitment as Board Chair over the past two years.

#### It was moved that the open session be adjourned at 7:25 pm.

